CME Resource Center


This resource center for Continuing Medical Education providers has been established to support state accredited organizations and institutions seeking accreditation, and non-accredited organizations interested in providing continuing medical education through Joint Providership.    

The Education Department is led by Diane Bass, Director of Education, along with Debbie Norris, Coordinator of Provider Services and  Lee Payne, Coordinator of CME Programs.

The Medical Association of the State of Alabama is recognized by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME) to accredit intrastate organizations to provide AMA PRA Category 1 Credit™.  As such, the Medical Association adopts the ACCME accreditation requirements and the pertinent philosophies and policies of the American Medical Association (AMA).  The Medical Association holds each of its accredited providers to the same standards set forth by the ACCME and AMA.  The education department staff also provide staff assistance for the Medical Association’s Council on Medical Education.  The Council, composed of 12 active members, is responsible for matters concerning post-graduate medical education and the development of state-wide post-graduate education policies and programs to include such matters as the accreditation of intrastate medical education programs.  Activities and actions of the Council are reported to the Medical Association’s  Board of Censors.  In addition,  the education department jointly provides activities with non-accredited entities to allow the non-accredited organization to plan and present activities for CME credit.  Each year numerous educational events are conducted across the state in collaboration with the Alabama Board of Medical Examiners, making them highly accessible to physicians.